Decree No. (31) of 2017 on establishing military zones

The Commander-in-Chief,

Upon review of:

- The Constitutional Declaration and amendments thereto;
- The Libyan Political Agreement signed on 17 December 2015 AD;
- Law No. (40) of 1974 AD on military service and amendments thereto;
- Law No. (43) of 1974 AD on the retirement of members of the military and amendments thereto;
- Law No. (35) of 1977 AD reorganising the Libyan Army (the Armed Forces);
- Law No. (19) of 2015 AD approving certain provisions on the powers of levels of leadership in the Libyan Army;
- Presidential Council Decree No. (4) of 2016 AD on forming the Government of National Accord;
- For reasons of public interest;

has decreed:

Article (1)

In accordance with this Decree, seven military zones shall be established that shall be part of the Libyan Army, directly affiliated to the Chief of Staff, and entrusted with the responsibility of preserving security in the zone, securing and defending it, warding off all threats and risks to which it is exposed, and safeguarding its stability. Such zones shall be as follows:

- 1. Tripoli Military Zone
- 2. Benghazi Military Zone
- 3. Central Military Zone
- 4. Western Military Zone
- 5. Sabha Military Zone
- Tobruk Military Zone
- 7. Al-Kufra Military Zone

Article (2)

The borders and area of each military zone shall be as set out in Annex (A), attached hereto.

Article (3)

Military zone commanders shall be directly responsible to the Commander-in-Chief of the Libyan Army for the performance of their activities.

Article (4)

Each military zone commander shall have a second-in-command, assisting them in the performance of their duties and representing them in their absence.

Article (5)

Military zone commanders and their second-incommand shall be assigned under a decree from the Commander-in-Chief of the Libyan Army.

Article (6)

Military zone commanders shall oversee the level of military discipline in the forces they command, enhance their degree of readiness, training, and performance of their combat duties, and shall be responsible for all matters related to improving and commanding them during times of war and peace.

Article (7)

The Chief of the General Staff shall provide the military zone with all individuals needed to meet the required staffing numbers.

Article (8)

The Ministry of Defence shall ensure the necessary financial coverage to reorganise and restructure the units in the military zones.

Article (9)

This Decree shall enter into force on the date of its issue. Any provision that conflicts herewith shall be repealed. This Decree shall be implemented by the concerned bodies.

> Issued on 6 Ramadan 1438 AH (Corresponding to: 01/06/2017 AD)

The Commander-in-Chief of the Libyan Army - Libya

No.	Military Zone	Military Zone Borders	
		Interior	Exterior
1	Tripoli Military Zone	Al-Maya - Al-Zahra - Al-Aziziya - Tarhuna - Bani Walid - Al- Qasba - Al-Qariyuli - Qasr al- Khiyar - Al-Ghanimah	Jadayem - Abusiba - Al-Hira Al- Kahraba - Al-Shwayrif - Al- Ariyan - Majer - Msallata
2	Sabha Military Zone	Jabal al-Naqi - Al-Tum - Jabal Akakus - Ghat - Al-Muthalath al- Silfadour - Qarara al-Naqa - Jabal al-Hasouna - Hamada Tanghrat	Ghadamis - Al-Shwayrif - Bani Walid - Sokna - Zella al-Fiqh - Maradah - Ghalu
3	Western Military Zone	Jadayem - Ras Jadir - Wazin - Ghadmes - Al-Shwayrif - Al- Ariyan - Al-Hira - Abu Shibah	Tarhuna - Bani Walid - Bawaba al-Ghailania - Al-Awiniat - Ein Al-Zu
4	Central Military Zone	Sokna - Al-Fiqa - Zella - Maradah - Brega	Bawaba al-Ghailania - Al- Shwayrif - Bani Walid - Tarhuna - Ghaneema
5	Benghazi Military Zone	Al-Bayyadah - Ajdabiya - Bashir	Brega - Maradah - Wadi al-Kuf - Jalu
6	Tobruk Military Zone	Musaid - Jaghbub - Wadi al-Kuf - Sabkha al-Qanin	Al-Bayyadah - Jalu 100 km south of Jaghbub
7	Al-Kufra Military Zone	Al-Awinat - Rabiyana - Al-Sarir - Jabal al-Tarhuni - Jalu	Jaghbub - Maradah - Jabal Zaltan - Jabal al-Naqi
Potett			
Fille			